Name Research Interests Department Email
Alexander V. Badyaev

the origin of adaptations, relationship between epigenetic and genetic inheritance systems, and evolution of behavioral and life history strategies (more info)

Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology abadyaev@email.arizona.edu
David Baltrus

evolutionary and ecological dynamics within microbial populations (more info)

The School of Plant Sciences baltrus@email.arizona.edu
Michael S. Barker

Evolutionary consequences of polyploidy, hybridization, and chromosomal evolution using genomic, bionformatic, field work, and modeling  approaches

Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology msbarker@email.arizona.edu
Jennifer K. Barton

optical coherence tomography (more info)

Biomedical Engineering and Electrical and Computer Engineering barton@u.arizona.edu
Judith Bronstein

evolution and ecology of mutualisms (more info)

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology judieb@u.arizona.edu
Heidi Brown

epidemiology and control of vector-borne and zoonotic diseases (more info)

Epidemiology and Biostatistics Division heidibrown@email.arizona.edu
Judith Brown

virus-vector-host relations for whitefly transmitted pathogens (more info)

The School of Plant Sciences jbrown@ag.arizona.edu
Yves Carriere

insect ecology, resistance to transgenic crops, host-selection behaviors, diapause (more info)

Department of Entomology ycarrier@ag.arizona.edu
Goggy Davidowitz

ecological and evolutionary physiology (more info)

Entomology goggy@email.arizona.edu
Katrina Dlugosch

genetics of plant colonization and its evolutionary and ecological outcomes (more info)

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology kdlugosch@email.arizona.edu
Anna Dornhaus

social insect colonies (more info)

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology dornhaus@email.arizona.edu
Kacey C. Ernst

Identifying how ecological and social changes impact the transmission of infectious diseases, and to incorporate that knowledge into the design of sustainable community-driven prevention and control strategies.

College of Public Health kernst@email.arizona.edu
Andrew J. Fuglevand

how the mammalian nervous system controls the action of skeletal muscles to produce coordinated movements (more info)

Department of Physiology & Department of Neuroscience fuglevan@u.arizona.edu
David Galbraith

biological instrumentation, developmental plant gene expression, plant functional genomics, and plant-insect interactions (more info)

The School of Plant Sciences galbraith@u.arizona.edu
Wulfila Gronenberg

movement control, muscle biomechanics, neuroethology (more info)

Department of Neuroscience wulfi@neurobio.arizona.edu
Martha Hunter

ecology and evolutionary biology of parasitoids (more info)

Department of Entomology mhunter@ag.arizona.edu
Luciano M. Matzkin

Dr. Matzkin is an evolutionary biologist whose lab focuses on the evolutionary and

ecological genetics of adaptation and speciation. 

Department of Entomology lmatzkin@email.arizona.edu
Joanna Masel

Evolutionary theory, with an emphasis on studying the robustness and evolvability of biological systems, including the origin of novelty at the level of new protein-coding sequences.

Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology masel@email.arizona.edu
Bill Montfort

macromolecular structure and function at atomic resolution using X-ray crystallography (more info)

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry montfort@u.arizona.edu
Wendy Moore

systematics, phylogenetics, evolution, and biogeography
(more info)

Department of Entomology wmoore@email.arizona.edu
Lisa Nagy

Development and evolution of pattern formation in arthropods (more info)

Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology lnagy@u.arizona.edu
Lynne Oland

the role of glial cells in the developing nervous system (more info)

Department of Neuroscience lao@neurobio.arizona.edu
Daniel Papaj

behavioral ecology of tephritid fruit flies, butterflies and parasitoids, plant-insect interactions (more info)

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology papaj@u.arizona.edu
Linda Restifo

genetic control of brain development and plasticity; genetics of mental retardation (more info)

Department of Neurology llr@email.arizona.edu
Michael Riehle

how the insulin signaling cascade impacts the balance between lifespan and reproduction in mosquitos (more info)

Department of Entomology mriehle@ag.arizona.edu
S. Patricia Stock

Biodiversity, ecology,and evolution of entomopathogenic nematodes (more info)

Department of Entomology/ Plant Sciences spstock@ag.arizona.edu
Nicholas Strausfeld

function organization of arthropod central nervous systems, learning and memory (more info)

Department of Neuroscience flybrain@neurobio.arizona.edu
Bruce Tabashnik

evolution and management of insect resistance to biological and synthetic insecticides (more info)

Department of Entomology brucet@ag.arizona.edu
Theodore P. Trouard

the development and application of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and spectroscopy (MRS) for the study of interesting biological systems (more info)

Biomedical Engineering trouard@email.arizona.edu
Urs Utzinger

development of optical techniques for the early diagnosis of tissue pathologies and monitoring of drug activity (more info)

Biomedical Engineering utzinger@u.arizona.edu
F. Ann Walker

the heme centers in heme proteins (more info)    

Department of Chemistry awalker@u.arizona.edu
John J. Wiens

origin of biodiversity patterns (speciation, diversification, species richness, macroecology, biogeography), including why are there so many species of insects? global change biology; phylogenetic approaches to ecology and evolution; phylogenetic theory (more info)

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology wiensj@email.arizona.edu
Rod A. Wing

Comparative Evolutionary Genomics of Crop Plants (Rice, Oryza, Maize, Cotton, Brassica, Amborella)
Genome Sequencing and Physical Mapping
Bioinformatics
BAC Library Construction & Distribution
Education and Outreach - Plant Science Family Nights

The School of Plant Sciences rwing@email.arizona.edu
Joy Winzerling

iron and copper metabolism (more info)

Department of Nutritional Sciences jwinzerl@ag.arizona.edu
Michael Worobey

origins, emergence and control of pathogens, in particular RNA viruses and retroviruses such as HIV and influenza virus (more info)

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology worobey@email.arizona.edu
Daniela Zarnescu

Mechanisms for neural development and polarity, mRNA transport (more info)

Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology zarnescu@email.arizona.edu
Konrad Zinsmaier

molecular mechanisms of excitation-dependent neurotransmitter exocytosis at nerve terminals (more info)

Department of Neuroscience kez@neurobio.arizona.edu